Participating countries

Participating countries

Erasmus+ is open to a number of countries across Europe and beyond.

UK organisations receive Erasmus+ funding to work with partners in other countries to deliver their projects. These countries are referred to as participating countries and are divided into two groups:

Programme Countries

The following countries, including the Overseas Countries and Territories of EU Member State countries, can fully take part in all Erasmus+ actions:

Member States of the European Union (EU)
Belgium Greece Lithuania Portugal
Bulgaria Spain Luxembourg Romania
Czech Republic France Hungary Slovenia
Denmark Croatia Malta Slovakia
Germany Italy Netherlands Finland
Estonia Cyprus Austria Sweden
Ireland Latvia Poland United Kingdom
Non-EU Programme Countries
former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Iceland Norway
Liechtenstein Turkey  

Partner Countries

The following countries can take part in certain Actions under Erasmus+, subject to specific criteria or conditions. Further information on this criteria can be found in the Programme Guide.

Partner Countries neighbouring the EU

Western Balkans: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, Serbia
Eastern Partnership Countries: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, Territory of Ukraine as recognised by international law
South-Mediterranean countries: Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine, Syria, Tunisia
Russian Federation: Territory of Russia as recognised by international law

Other Partner Countries

Switzerland is participating as a Partner Country under Erasmus+.

All other countries in the world are able to participate in some Actions under Erasmus+ but only under certain circumstances. This includes the new International Credit Mobility activity for higher education. Detailed criteria for eligibility can be found under each Action in the Programme Guide.